This weekend was taken up with our annual SCOUTS Zone Leader’s meeting in Wellington. 33 senior volunteers from all over the country getting face-to-face to talk and discuss and debate and learn and share and decide.

It got me thinking about how much time I spend online. I enjoy working on the computer, researching and learning. I enjoy chatting with friends from all over the globe and sending emails and writing this blog.

I also like spending time with real people too.

As technology improves to make our virtual ‘world’ even more user-friendly (think how social networks allow us to connect effortlessly, or how holograms mean speakers can present at conferences overseas without leaving home, etc) I believe the personal contact will become increasingly important.

People  interpret nuance and subtle emotion. Smiles and handshakes connect us.

People give hugs.

